2nd Place or Natnael Berhane in the overall standings after Stage 6


Eritrean sport news:  Sayar climbs into the Tour of Turkey lead in stage 6

Mustafa Sayar (Torku Sekerspor) won stage 6 of the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey on Friday.

The Turkish rider broke away from the peloton with about three kilometers left on the final climb of the 182km stage, passing Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) and riding solo the rest of the way in. As other riders dropped off the back, nobody was able to match his effort.

Natnael Berhane (Europcar) lost the leader’s jersey to Sayar.

Finishing second to Sayar was Yohan Bagot (Cofidis), while Edet took third. Sayar leads Natnael Berhane in the GC standings by 41 seconds. Bagot is third, 44 seconds back, with two days of racing left.

Natnael Berhane, who took the lead in stage 3, punctured with 19km to go. With the help of three teammates, he was able to make his way back to the peloton. But he began to crack on the finishing kilometers and finished well back.

Action resumes with Saturday’s 124km stage 7.

Mustafa - Tour of Turkey - Stage 6

Source: http://www.cyclingnews.com/races/presidential-cycling-tour-of-turkey-2013/stage-6/results – http://velonews.competitor.com/2013/04/news/sayar-climbs-into-the-tour-of-turkey-lead-in-stage-6_283699

Brief Results

1 Mustafa Sayar (Tur) Torku Sekerspor 4:40:09
2 Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:00:18
3 Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:00:23
4 Danail Andonov Petrov (Bul) Caja Rural 0:00:28
5 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia 0:00:30
6 Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Sojasun
7 Serge Pauwels (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
8 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
9 Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement 0:00:33
10 Marc De Maar (AHo) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team

General classification after stage 6

1 Mustafa Sayar (Tur) Torku Sekerspor 23:49:24
2 Natnael Berhane (Eri) Team Europcar 0:00:41
3 Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
4 Maxime Mederel (Fra) Sojasun 0:00:57
5 Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:01:00
6 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge 0:01:02
7 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia 0:01:08
8 Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement 0:01:09
9 Danail Andonov Petrov (Bul) Caja Rural 0:01:13
10 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:01:15

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.